A short conversation with my children

Standard

This morning, a friend asked me to help her bake cupcakes for her sister’s sweet 16 party.  I tried to keep the ‘squeeeeee!!!‘ out of my voice as I text back, ‘Yes, yes, YES!’  I love cupcakes.  I love baking them and decorating them and, above all, eating them.  The first two, I’m not so good at.  Yet.  But I’m practicing.  And that last part?  I’m pretty much a pro.  My children are also big fans of the cupcake.

So I went directly to the computer and searched for pictures of cupcakes that went along with her theme colors.  I was paging through blogs and of course, the almighty Pinterest for ideas when my little boy padded up behind me.

“Cupcake?” he asked, tentatively.

“That’s right, Jack, cupcake.”

“Cupcake!” he yelled, with excitement.  Eliza heard and came up on my other side.

“Cupcake! Cupcake! Cupcake!”

Both kids were bouncing up and down, obviously thinking I was going to pluck one of those delicious treats right out of the computer screen and hand it to them.  Shit.

“No, no, they’re not real cupcakes, just pictures of cupcakes.  We don’t have any cupcakes.”

“Cupcakes! Yay!”

“No, look.  Just a picture.  Here, touch the screen.  See?  No cupcakes.”

“Cupcakes, okay, Mommy.  Cupcakes, Okay!”  That’s what Eliza says when she wants something.   She suggests it, I’ll say it back to her and she’ll say, “Cupcakes (or whatever), Okay!” like, “Hey, what a great suggestion, Mom.  I’m so glad you thought of it.  Cupcakes, Okay!”

“No cupcakes.  We don’t have any cupcakes.”

“Okay, no cupcakes.  Cupcakes, okay!”

We were going in circles.  Thankfully, an episode of Bubble Guppies distracted them from the cupcake pictures and I quickly changed the screen before they came back.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Cupcake Hell « As Is

  2. Pingback: As Is

Leave a Reply

