The Stopover

Standard

Why is it that no one seems to get that 7 pm is a really bad time to stop by my house?  It is the beginning of bedtime, which usually takes close to an hour, and then it is my dinner time.  I just like to relax by myself at the end of the day – to have my dinner, lay on the couch, watch some crap tv and wait for my husband to get home.  The very last thing I want to do is entertain visitors.

I got a text message today from a friend and it said she’s stopping over here at around 7.  Did we have plans, even tentative ones, prior to this text?  Uh, no.  I’ve tried to explain to her before that 7 pm is a BAD TIME for someone with 14 month old twins.  Even on a Saturday night.  In fact, 6 pm and beyond is strongly discouraged unless the kids are staying somewhere else.  And she knows that my daughter has been sick and hasn’t really slept much at all in the last 5 days.  It’s not a good time to visit.  And by ‘stopping by’, just how long a visit are we talking?

And, ugh, does it mean I have to clean up?

update: I asked her to please make it another time (I was careful to say ‘time’ not ‘night’ or ‘evening’) because Eliza was getting over being sick and was still tired and cranky.  She only said, ‘OK’ via text message.  I think next time I see her, I’ll try to explain that evenings are really bad for me right now, especially if we haven’t planned anything in advance.  And by ‘right now’, I pretty much mean for the next five years or so. 😉

Leave a Reply

