Present/Infant

Standard

I listened to this song today and cried because I can identify with it so completely.

I’m a woman who grew up doing everything I could to change my appearance–make it better, make it perfect.  And of course, all that effort is in vain because there’s no way I’m ever going to be anywhere close to perfect.  I’ve never been happy with the way I look.  Not ever.  I fight with my body.  I fight extra pounds and a big nose and too-small lips.

And I’m crying because I don’t know how to fight all that and at the same time, convince my daughter that she is fabulous just the way she is.  I just want her to know how great she is and love herself…

“Present/Infant” Ani DiFranco

Lately I’ve been glaring into mirrors picking myself apart
You’d think at my age I’d thought of something better to do
Than making insecurity into a full time job
Making insecurity into an art

And I fear my life will be over
And I will have never lived in unfettered
Always glaring into mirrors
Mad, I don’t look better

But now here is this tiny baby
And they say she looks just like me
And she is smiling at me with that present infant glee
Yes, and I would defend to the ends of the earth
Her perfect right to be

So I’m beginning to see some problems
With the ongoing work of my mind
And I’ve got myself a new mantra
It says don’t forget to have a good time
Don’t let the sellers of stuff power enough to rob you of your grace

Love is all over the place
There’s nothing wrong with your face
Love is all over the place
There’s nothing wrong with your face

Leave a Reply

