coffee (oh no!)

Standard

So I’ve been on this TTC roller coaster for a little more than two years now.  I’ve been through five clomid cycles, three injectable/IUI cycles, and 2 pregnancies, both of which have resulted in early losses.  I really should know all the ins and outs, what to do and what to avoid with a ten foot pole.

So, imagine my surprise at my first acupuncture appointment today, as my needle guy is going over my paper work and notices the area on harmful substances consumed.  I fully expected to be reprimanded for my several glasses of wine a week (when not pg obviously).  Nope! He even said that wine, in moderation, is okay during pregnancy and while TTC.

What wasn’t okay?  THE COFFEE!

I only have one cup a day.  Really.  One cup in the morning and then I don’t touch caffeine again until the next morning.  He said, ‘I’m really concerned about the caffeine intake.’  Um, what?  My measly one cup of coffee?  I don’t even drink soda or tea or any other caffeinated beverages during the day.  Just that one stupid cup of coffee.  Then he said, ‘Well, one cup doesn’t really tell me that much…how big is the cup?’

Oh.

I hadn’t really thought about that.  It’s a pint.  It’s 16 oz. of hot, steamy, wake-me-up-in-the-morning goodness.  He said, ‘you know that’s really like three traditional cups, not one.  And with your level of anxiety, you really shouldn’t be drinking any.’

Now I feel like a piece of shit.  How could I not have know that?  I’ll tell you why.  Because I’ve watched a coworker of mine drink coffee, soda, iced tea and regular tea on a daily basis through two of her pregnancies and then have two healthy babies.  I just really thought it was okay.

So I guess that’s it for my morning ritual.  I suppose decaf is probably okay, but honestly, what’s the point of that?   Of all the things I have to give up to have a baby, for some reason, this one upsets me most of all.  It is was the one peaceful moment I got during my day. But we do what we have to do, right?  Of course I’m going to give it up. 😦

Leave a Reply

